Electrical Engineering Brawijaya Universityestablished in October 1978. The establishment of the Electrical Engineering Department is the vision of Prof.Ir. Suryono (Alm), who was the Brantas Project Leader, as well as Dean Engineering Faculty Brawijaya University, and Prof.Ir. Sutami (Alm), as the Minister of Public Worksand Power(PUTL).

Both of them saw a great opportunities for the development of the electricity sector. At its inception, the existence of the Electrical Engineering Department can not be separated with PIP (Principal Scientific Pattern) Brawijaya University and other supporting condition sat the time, for example:

  1. Power requirements under graduate Electrical Engineering continues to increase
  2. There is support from various parties, for example, from Versatile Parent Project Brantas river, the State Electric Company, and others
  3. The government’s commitment to provide electrical energy to remote rural evenly through out the territory of Indonesia
  4. Empowerment of rural communities in towards industrialization

In1984-1996, together withot her universities, such as: ITB, UI, UGM and ITS, Electrical Engineering Department, Brawijaya University trustes by the Government to implement the Acceleration Project Engineer (P2I) for the Tier One(S1) , with this P2I, Department of Electrical Engineering, Brawijaya University is able to constructa laboratory building, covering an area of ±2.000 m2and the lecture hall of ±2.000m2which isused in conjunction with the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

In 1991 the Department of electrical engineering was selected as one of the beneficiaries of laboratory equipment in large enough quantities from the Deutsche Gesellschaftfür Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ) GmbH, which is known asN55-Project. With such assistance, laboratory equipment facilities owned by the Department of Electrical Engineering becomes more complete. To accommodate the new equipment, in 1993 built a laboratory building with an area of ± 2.000m2. In 2000, using public funds, the Department of Electrical Engineering has an additional new facility ±2.000m2is used for college.

 Gedung Teknik Elektro B dibangun 1985

Electrical Engineering Building B was built in 1985

Realization Master Program in Electrical Engineering (PMT) at the Post graduate Program UB (PPSUB) has been made sincethe Academic Year 2004-2005. While waiting for the release of the administrative process SK Director General of Higher Education, temporarily PMTE be one of the specializations Master Program Mechanical Engineering (PMTM). PMTE began to receive the first batch of new students in the academic year 2004 – 2007 for specialization: Applied Electro. Since the 2007 school year PMTE organized asa separate study program based Operation Permit No.1575 /D/T/2007 dated June 29, 2007. Based on the development of the organization of educational activities in Electrical Engineering Master Program (PMTE) began in 2008 to accept new students with specialization: Electric Power System (STL), and the Electronic Control System (SKE), and Communication and Information system(SKI). The third is expected to specialization over S2 students will focus on the lecture material, including the completion of thesis to be made.

Chairman and Secretary of the Department TEUB 1978-2013

10.2011 – Now Ir. Sholeh Hadi P., MS.M. Aziz Muslim, MT. Ph.D.

10.2013 – Now M. Aziz Muslim, ST., MT., Ph.D.Hadi Sujono, ST.,M.T. P.h.D.

td>10.2013 – Now M. Aziz Muslim, ST., MT. Ph.D.Hadi Suyono, ST., MT. Ph.D.

No. Year Chairman Secretary
1. 1978 – 1983 Ir. Almizan Abdullah Ir. Setyo Saksomo
2. 1983 – 1988 Ir. Setyo Saksomo Ir. Chairuzzaini
3. 1988 – 1992 Ir. M. Choiri Ir. Erfan Ahmad Dahlan
4. 1992 – 1996 Ir. M. Julius St., MS. Ir. Soemarwanto
5. 1996 – 1999 Ir. Soemarwanto Ir. Sholeh Hadi P., MS.
6. 1999 – 2003 Ir. Sholeh Hadi P., MS. Ir. Unggul Wibawa, M.Sc.
7. 2003 – 2007 Ir. Purwanto, MT. Ir. Heri Purnomo
8. 2007 – 2009 Ir. Heru Nurwarsito, MT. Rudy Yuwono, MT. M.Sc.
9. 2009 – 2011 Rudy Yuwono, MT. M.Sc. M. Aziz Muslim, ST. ,MT. Ph.D.
10. 2011 – 2013 Ir. Sholeh Hadi P., MS. M. Aziz Muslim, ST., MT. Ph.D.